TAYLORED

I’m sure many of you have heard the newest chart topper by Meghan Trainor entitled “All About That Bass”. If you haven’t, the super catchy pop song has a killer baseline and will most likely be stuck in your head for days. The whole message behind the song is (supposed to be) body acceptance and embracing your curves, or “bass”. Unfortunately, Trainor’s idea of how to empower women in the sense of body confidence is skewed to the point of ignorance for the meaning.

Don’t get me wrong, I love, LOVE the idea of pop songs endorsing confidence and acceptance. The problem with this song is that it does that, but only for a very specific type of woman and for the wrong reasons.

Sure, Trainor tells listeners that “every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top” and “my mama she told me don’t worry about…

View original post 326 more words

