When I was 13 years old I bought a book from my little brothers book fair at his elementary school. It caught my attention from the shelf because the cover picture had the top of a mountain on it. At the time, I did not know what mountain, nor what it would be about.

After reading the back cover I found out the story was about a 14-year-old boy going to climb Mt. Everest. Although, I had never been climbing, let alone on any type of mountain, I was really interested in reading this novel.

Peak is a fiction novel written as if the story was being told through the main character’s moleskin journal. Through his journal he tells his reader of the time he traveled to Asia with his father, unknowingly to climb, and ends up telling an exciting story as he made his journey up the mountain. To my surprise, this book had a huge impact on my life since then. After reading I became very interested in mountain climbing, Mt. Everest, and the country and culture of Nepal. Ever since finishing that book I have made it a goal of mine to make it to Kathmandu.

Also after reading, I remember telling everyone in my family and my friends about all the facts I learned from the book. The author not only told a story, but gave straight facts about mountain climbing and Mt. Everest itself. I think this is why the story held so much interest to me. And still to this day, I enjoy shows on the Travel and Discovery channels and books about Nepal.

This book did not just give me a lifetime goal, but also taught me the classic lesson of life not being all about the peak or summit of a mountain but the climb to it. Peak’s (main character) story inspired me to do everything I can, even if I believe it to be impossible, to reach my goal.  And one of my goals that have come from reading this book is to travel the world- which is now one of the biggest components of my life. My goal of traveling the world is what I live for!

I think this book had such a positive and huge impact on me because it is different from other books that I was reading at that age. It was the first book that really taught me about climbing and another culture. Doing so, I learned to appreciate other cultures and their differences. Today, I like to read not just fiction stories but informative, non-fiction books about different countries and cultures around the world.

Although, I have no interest in climbing any other mountain in the world, I do still hope that one day, I will be able to see every mountain and all other beautiful places on every continent that I get to travel to.

Peak by Roland Smith

